Skip to main content

About U.Porto - History

The University of Porto celebrates its more than 110 years of history, while planning for the future.

The origins of the University of Porto

With roots dating back to the 18th century and a combination of educational experiences that would become the future University, the U.Porto was formally established on 22 March 1911, shortly after the establishment of the Republic in Portugal.

Initially, the U.Porto was structured into two faculties: Science and Medicine. Still during the First Republic, the Technical Faculty was created in 1915 (renamed the Faculty of Engineering in 1926), the Faculty of Arts and Humanities in 1919 and the Faculty of Pharmacy in 1925.

The growth of the University of Porto would, however, be halted during the dictatorship that ruled Portugal between 1926 and 1974. In 1928 the Faculty of Arts was extinguished, only to be reopened in 1961. In fact, only the Faculty of Economics (1953) was truly founded from scratch during this period.

After the April Revolution of 1974, and until the end of the 20th century, the U.Porto finally entered an expansion path. To the six faculties then existing, eight more were added: the Institute of Biomedical Sciences Abel Salazar (1975), the Faculty of Sports (1975), the Faculty of Psychology and Education Sciences (1977), the Faculty of Architecture (1979), the Faculty of Dental Medicine (1989), the Faculty of Nutrition and Food Sciences (1992), the Faculty of Fine Arts (1992) and the Faculty of Law (1994).

Currently, the University of Porto is a public foundation of private law that enjoys statutory, pedagogical, scientific, cultural, administrative, financial, patrimonial and disciplinary autonomy.

Historical figures