Important Dates

Journal track paper:
submit now, max Apr 1, 2017

Paper submission (TT):
Apr 15, 2017 May 1, 2017

Paper acceptance (TT):
May 31, 2017

Jun 15, 2017

Doctoral Symposium & BAAI session:
Paper submission: Jun 15, 2017
Paper acceptance: Jul 15, 2017
Camera-ready: Jul 25, 2017

Discovery Challenge:
Predictions: Jun 1, 2017
Papers: Jul 8, 2017 Jul 31, 2017

Geometry Friends:
Aug 8, 2017

Sep 5-8, 2017



Research on MAS has a vigorous, exciting tradition and has led to important theories and systems. However, new trends and concerns are still emerging and form the basis of current and future research. This thematic track is intended to provide a discussion forum on the most recent and innovative work in all areas of MAS.

The unifying focus of the thematic track will be on methodological aspects. Both theoretical and practical research should be situated in the context of existing or new methodologies.

This will not preclude any specific topic, but preference will be given to research work that establishes some connection with the methodological aspects or to successful applications built upon some methodology.


Topics of Interest
– Agent Theories, Architectures and Models
– Agent-Based Applications
– Agent-Based Systems Interoperability
– Agents and Smart Cities
– Agreement Technologies
– Artificial Social Systems
– Automated Negotiation and Computational Argumentation
– Cognitive Models, including Emotions and Philosophies
– Communication: Languages, Semantics, Protocols, and Conversations
– Cooperation, Coordination and Teamwork in MAS
– Emergent Behaviour from MAS
– Ethical and Legal Issues raised by Agents and MAS
– Formal Methods for Modelling Agents and Agent-Based Systems
– Industrial and Commercial Applications
– Modelling the Dynamics of MAS
– Multi-Agent Evolution, Adaptation and Learning
– Multi-Agent Simulation & Modelling
– Multi-Agent Systems for Transportation
– Norms and Institutions
– Privacy, Safety and Security
– Scalability and Performance of MAS
– Social and Organizational Structure
– Trust, Reliability and Reputation


Submission Information

All papers should be submitted in PDF format through the EPIA 2017 submission Website (, by selecting the Multi-Agent Systems: Theory and Applications track.

Submissions must be original and can be of two types: full papers should not exceed twelve (12) pages in length, whereas short papers should not exceed six (6) pages.

Each submission will be peer reviewed by at least three members of the Programme Committee. The reviewing process is double blind, so authors should remove names and affiliations from the submitted papers, and must take reasonable care to assure anonymity during the review process. References to own work may be included in the paper, as long as referred to in the third person.

Accepted papers will appear in the EPIA 2017 proceedings, to be published by Springer in the LNAI series.

All accepted papers must be presented orally the conference by one of the authors and at least one author of each accepted paper must register for the conference.

A poster session will also be accommodated in the conference program, open to every accepted paper (limited to available space) for idea presentation and discussion.


Organizing Committee

Alberto Fernandez Gil, CETINIA, URJC, Spain
Daniel Castro Silva, FEUP / LIACC, Porto, Portugal
Jomi Fred Hübner, UFSC, Santa Catarina, Brazil
José Machado, DI-Universidade do Minho, Portugal

Contact: [email protected]


Steering Committee

Eugénio Oliveira, Universidade do Porto, Portugal
Hélder Coelho, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
João Balsa, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
Luís Paulo Reis, Universidade do Minho, Portugal


Program Committee

Alejandro Guerra-Hernández (Universidad Veracruzana, Mexico)
Amílcar Cardoso (Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal)
Ana Bazzan (UFRGS, Brazil)
Ana Paula Rocha (Universidade do Porto, Portugal)
Andrea Omicini (Università di Bologna, Italy)
António Castro (TAP Air Portugal + LIACC, Portugal)
António Rocha Costa (Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil)
Brigida Mónica Faria (Polytechnic Institute of Porto, Portugal)
Carlos Carrascosa (Universidad Politecnica de Valencia, Spain)
Carlos Martinho (Instituto Superior Técnico, Portugal)
César Analide (Universidade do Minho, Portugal)
Diana Adamatti (Universidade Federal do Rio Grande (FURG) – Brazil)
Felipe Meneguzzi (Pontificia Universidade Católica do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil)
Filipe Portela (University of Minho, Portugal)
F. Jordan Srour (American University of Beirut, Lebanon)
Francisco Grimaldo (Universidad de Valencia, Spain)
Frank Dignum (Universiteit Utrecht, The Netherlands)
Graçaliz Dimuro (Universidade Federal do Rio Grande, Brazil)
Henrique Lopes Cardoso (Universidade do Porto, Portugal)
Ingrid Nunes (UFRGS, Brazil)
Javier Carbó (Universidad Carlos III Madrid, Spain)
Jerusa Marchi (UFSC, Brazil)
Joana Urbano (Instituto Superior Miguel Torga, Portugal)
João Leite (Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal)
John-Jules Meyer (Universiteit Utrecht, The Netherlands)
Jordi Sabater-Mir (IIIA-CSIC, Spain)
Juan Antonio Rodriguez (IIIA-CSIC, Spain)
Juan Burguillo (Universidade de Vigo, Spain)
Juan Corchado (Universidad de Salamanca, Spain)
Laurent Vercouter (École Nationale Supérieure des Mines de Saint-Étienne, France)
Luís Botelho (ISCTE, Portugal)
Luís Correia (Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal)
Luís Macedo (Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal)
Luís Moniz (Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal)
Manuel Filipe Santos (Minho University, Portugal)
Matt Webster (University of Liverpool, UK)
Michael Schumacher (University of Applied Sciences Western Switzerland, Switzerland)
Neil Yorke-Smith (American University of Beirut, Lebanon)
Nuno Lau (Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal)
Olivier Boissier (École Nationale Supérieure des Mines de Saint-Étienne, France)
Paolo Torroni (Università di Bologna, Italy)
Paulo Novais (Universidade do Minho, Portugal)
Paulo Trigo (Superior Institute of Engineering of Lisbon, Portugal)
Paulo Urbano (Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal)
Pedro Mariano (Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal)
Penousal Machado (Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal)
Rafael Bordini (Pontífica Universidade Católica do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil)
Ramón Hermoso (University of Zaragoza, Spain)
Reyhan Aydogan (Bogazici University, Turkey)
Rosa Vicari (Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil)
Virginia Dignum (Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands)
Viviane Torres Da Silva (Universidade Federal Fluminense, Brazil)
Wamberto Vasconcelos (University of Aberdeen, UK)
Yves Demazeau (Laboratoire d’Informatique de Grenoble, France)